source: trunk/target/linux/generic/patches-3.2/031-lockdep-bug-Exclude-TAINT_OOT_MODULE-from-disabling-.patch @ 29846

Last change on this file since 29846 was 29846, checked in by juhosg, 5 years ago

generic: 3.2: don't disable lockdep for OOT modules

File size: 1.9 KB
  • kernel/panic.c

    From 9ec84acee1e221d99dc33237bff5e82839d10cc0 Mon Sep 17 00:00:00 2001
    From: Ben Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
    Date: Wed, 7 Dec 2011 14:30:58 +0000
    Subject: [PATCH 2/2] lockdep, bug: Exclude TAINT_OOT_MODULE from disabling lock debugging
    
    We do want to allow lock debugging for GPL-compatible modules
    that are not (yet) built in-tree.  This was disabled as a
    side-effect of commit 2449b8ba0745327c5fa49a8d9acffe03b2eded69
    ('module,bug: Add TAINT_OOT_MODULE flag for modules not built
    in-tree').  Lock debug warnings now include taint flags, so
    kernel developers should still be able to deflect warnings
    caused by out-of-tree modules.
    
    The TAINT_PROPRIETARY_MODULE flag for non-GPL-compatible modules
    will still disable lock debugging.
    
    Signed-off-by: Ben Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
    Cc: Nick Bowler <nbowler@elliptictech.com>
    Cc: Greg KH <greg@kroah.com>
    Cc: Dave Jones <davej@redhat.com>
    Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au>
    Cc: Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@xenotime.net>
    Cc: Debian kernel maintainers <debian-kernel@lists.debian.org>
    Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
    Cc: Alan Cox <alan@linux.intel.com>
    Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1323268258.18450.11.camel@deadeye
    Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
    ---
     kernel/panic.c |    5 +++--
     1 files changed, 3 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)
    
    a b void add_taint(unsigned flag) 
    237237         * Can't trust the integrity of the kernel anymore. 
    238238         * We don't call directly debug_locks_off() because the issue 
    239239         * is not necessarily serious enough to set oops_in_progress to 1 
    240          * Also we want to keep up lockdep for staging development and 
    241          * post-warning case. 
     240         * Also we want to keep up lockdep for staging/out-of-tree 
     241         * development and post-warning case. 
    242242         */ 
    243243        switch (flag) { 
    244244        case TAINT_CRAP: 
     245        case TAINT_OOT_MODULE: 
    245246        case TAINT_WARN: 
    246247        case TAINT_FIRMWARE_WORKAROUND: 
    247248                break; 
Note: See TracBrowser for help on using the repository browser.