Modify

Opened 6 years ago

Closed 4 years ago

Last modified 21 months ago

#6117 closed enhancement (wontfix)

mtd and boot_wait

Reported by: jadew Owned by: developers
Priority: normal Milestone: Barrier Breaker 14.07
Component: packages Version:
Keywords: Cc:

Description

If boot_wait is off, mtd should ask the user if he wants to set boot_wait on when flashing a new image.

This would prevent new users from bricking their routers, because they usually find out about boot_wait only after they screw things up.

Attachments (0)

Change History (3)

comment:4 in reply to: ↑ description Changed 6 years ago by KanjiMonster

Replying to anonymous:

Replying to anonymous:

NO PATCH, NO FIX!!!

What do you mean?

Just ignore him. Don't feed the trolls.

Replying to jadew:

If boot_wait is off, mtd should ask the user if he wants to set boot_wait on when flashing a new image.

This would prevent new users from bricking their routers, because they usually find out about boot_wait only after they screw things up.

Enabling boot_wait is a double edged sword, while it does enable easier recovery, it may also enable any malicious user in the network to flash a new firmware. All they have to do is force a reboot of the unit, or wait till it gets rebooted.

Apart from that, setting boot_wait would not be mtd's job, but rather sysupgrade's. Perhaps a viable solution without compromising security could be that sysupgrade can enable boot_wait if requested, and a successful first boot disables it again (also with the option of leaving it set if requested). While this would enhance the wear of the flash (twice per reflash), it should still be acceptable, as one does not update the firmware that often.

comment:5 Changed 4 years ago by nbd

  • Resolution set to wontfix
  • Status changed from new to closed

comment:6 Changed 21 months ago by jow

  • Milestone changed from Attitude Adjustment 12.09 to Barrier Breaker 14.07

Milestone Attitude Adjustment 12.09 deleted

Add Comment

Modify Ticket

Action
as closed .
The resolution will be deleted. Next status will be 'reopened'.
Author


E-mail address and user name can be saved in the Preferences.

 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.